What Do Counties Do?

What’s a County?

Counties have been around since before Texas became a state, and even before it was a republic. Under Spanish rule, the land was divided into municipios. When the Republic of Texas formed in 1836, those municipios became the first 23 counties. By the time Texas joined the United States in 1845, the new state comprised 37 counties.

Fast forward to today — 254 counties make up the Lone Star State. In each county, a team of locally elected and appointed county officials serves its community.

Counties do the following and much more – 365 days a year, in all 254 counties.

Click an icon below to learn more about each county service.

As more federal and state responsibilities are mandated to local government, counties meet these demands and efficiently deliver a growing list of services while keeping local property taxes as low as possible.

County government and county officials also understand and respond to address the problems and priorities of their local communities. Officials are neighbors serving neighbors. They are elected by the communities in which they live and work.